Classify Flower Images Using Machine Learning & Python

randerson112358
8 min readApr 11, 2020

Classify Flower Images Using Machine Learning On Google Colab

Image classification is a process in computer vision that can classify an image according to its visual content. In this article I will show you how to classify different species of flowers.

Programming:

The first thing that I like to do before writing a single line of code is to put in a description in comments of what the code does. This way I can look back on my code and know exactly what it does.

#Description: This program classifies flower images

Setup / Loading The Images

Since I am using Google Colab for this program, I need a way to upload the flower images to the site. So, I will upload the images to my Google Drive and then mount the drive.

A link to another web page should pop up. Without that web page you should see the authorization code or be asked to sign in to your Google account to get the authorization code.

Once you get the authorization code, then enter the code in the text box that should also be displayed after running the code above and then press enter.

The drive should now be mounted.

--

--